Dark Retreats

A dedicated Space
"Darkness in darkness. The gateway to all understanding" Lao Tzu
What is a Dark Retreat?

Meditation in the dark gives us the opportunity to withdraw from the senses and look inward. In daily life we keep ourselves very busy, and are distracted by many external stimuli from work, screens, socializing, or even the beauties of nature. Dark Room Retreats enhance the meditation practice by shifting that impulse inward and seeing what is alive in us, diving into the depths of our being. It is an exploration of ourselves that can lead to many discoveries.

Kaya Kalpa (Dark Retreat) is an advanced spiritual practice that comes from the ancestral Ayurvedic and Tantric traditions of India and Tibet. It is an awakening practice in which the guru or teacher is darkness itself. The meditator enters a room that admits absolutely no light and spends a certain number of days in the dark in order to arouse deep states of consciousness.

 

 

For a more thorough perspective on dark room retreats from the

Hridaya perspective: click here.

To read the testimony of a person coming out of a weeklong dark retreat in our space: click here.

A dedicated Space

Two dark rooms are available for these retreats for durations of a minimum of 2 nights close to the Hridaya Yoga France center in the neighboring village of Saint Just d'Avray.

 

Although simple, the rooms, about 25m2 in size, are ideal for these retreats in the dark and are specially designed for this. They include: a good ventilation system, a queen-size bed, a small bathroom with shower, sink and toilet, a "relaxation" area with a table and an armchair, as well as enough floor space to practice yoga and meditation. There is a "food box" through which meals are served. Bed linen and towels are provided.

These retreats can be done in a solitary way, or as a couple: either staying in the same dark room or each partner entering one of our two dark rooms at the same time. They may, in that case occasionally meet, if they wish, during the retreat and again at the end of the retreat.

 

Prices

 

Nights:

Individual retreat

  • € 65, - per night for 2-5 nights

  • € 60, - per night for 6-14 nights

  • € 55, - per night for 15-30 nights

 

Couples retreat (2 rooms)

  • € 120, - per night for 2-5 nights

  • € 100, - per night for 5-14 nights

 

Cleaning:

  • € 20, - cleaning fee

        Bookings

 

To make a booking request, you will first have to answer the questionnaire (see below), and possibly have a preliminary interview.

Your Hosts

 

Deborah and Jürgen both teach at Hridaya Yoga France. As hosts, they will take care of you during your retreat, provide you with meals if requested, answer all your questions and guide you if necessary. They will offer you an orientation session at the start of the retreat, as well as a debriefing at the end of it.

Calendar

Refer to the calendar to find out when the darkroom is available for your retreats.

However, to make a booking request, please complete the questionnaire above.

TESTIMONIALS

FLORIS

Going into the dark room was like going into the womb, as far as I remember my time in the womb back in the day... Having nothing to do and being immersed into the dark is such a great condition to go deeper in meditation and to get more and more transparant with my inner life. The dark room was very clean, spacious, comfortable and perfect. Juergen and Deborah are great hosts, I felt very taken care for. Lots of gratitude for this experience!

The dark room was for me a very deep experience which brought me back intimately to the heart.

 

Being alone with no external distractions opened the doors of infinity wide and profoundly changed my perception of reality.

It was a very intense experience that transformed my vision of myself and the outside world.

 

Darkness offers this possibility to return to the source, the echoes continue to accompany me and bring me great strength at all times.

Thanks to Déborah and Jürgen for their welcome and their presence.

CLEMENS

What a magical experience it was staying in the  darkness! Meditation went so much deeper. Deborah and Jürgen cared for me with kindness and they serve a divine delicious cuisine :)  

PAULINA

I can’t imagine better dark rooms anywhere else and better hosts in fact. Deborah and Juergen have created a beautiful and safe haven where I felt completely at home. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to dive within! Thank you!

REMI

Photo Gallery

Our Location

Un Espace Dédié
« L'obscurité dans l'obscurité. La passerelle vers toute compréhension »  Lao Tzu
En quoi consiste une retraite dans le noir?

La méditation dans le noir nous donne l'occasion de nous retirer des objets de nos sens et de regarder à l'intérieur. Dans la vie quotidienne, nous sommes très occupés et toujours distraits par de nombreux stimuli extérieurs venant du travail, des écrans, de la vie social voire même des beautés de la nature... Les Retraites dans le Noir développent notre pratique de la méditation en tourne notre regard vers l'intérieur, observant avec curiosité ce qui est vivant en nous, plongeant dans les profondeurs de notre être. C'est une exploration de nous-mêmes qui peut conduire à de nombreuses découvertes.

La méditation dans le noir est une pratique spirituelle avancée qui nous provient des traditions ayurvédiques et tantriques ancestrales de l'Inde et du Tibet. C'est une pratique d'éveil dans laquelle le guru ou l'enseignant se trouve être l'obscurité même. Le méditant entre dans une pièce qui n'admet absolument aucune lumière et passe un certain nombre de jours dans le noir complet afin de susciter des états de conscience profonds.

Pour une perspective plus complète sur les retraites en chambres noires selon

Hridaya (en anglais seulement): cliquer ici.

Pour lire le témoignage (en anglais) d'une personne à la sortie d'une retraite dans le noir d'une semaine dans notre espace: cliquer ici.

L'Espace Dédié

Deux espaces pour ces retraites sont disponibles pour ces retraites pour des durées de 2 à 30 nuits non loin du centre Hridaya Yoga France dans le village voisin de Saint Just d’Avray.

Bien que simples, les chambres d'environ 25m2 sont idéales pour ces retraites solitaires dans le noir et sont spécialement conçues pour cela. Elles comprennent: un bon système de ventilation, un lit « queen-size », une petite salle de bain avec douche, lavabo et WC, un espace «détente» doté d'une table et un fauteuil, ainsi que suffisamment de surface au sol pour pratiquer yoga et méditation. Elles sont aussi dotées d'une « boîte à nourriture » à travers laquelle les repas sont servis. Les draps et les serviettes sont fournis.

Ces retraites peuvent se faire de manière solitaire, ou en couple: soit en restant dans la même chambre ou alors chaque partenaire logeant dans chacune de nos deux chambres noires en même temps. Dans ce cas, le couple pourra s'il le souhaite se rencontrer occasionnellement pendant la retraite et à la fin de la retraite.
 

Tarifs

 

Nuitées:

Retraite individuelle

  • € 65, - par nuit pour 2-5 nuits

  • € 60, - par nuit pour 6-14 nuits

  • € 55, - par nuit pour 15-30 nuits

 

Retraite en couple (2 chambres)

  • € 120,- par nuit pour 2-5 nuits

  • € 100,- par nuit pour 5-14 nuits

 

Ménage:

  • € 20, - frais de ménage

        Réservations

 

Pour effectuer une demande de réservation, il vous faudra d'abord répondre à un questionnaire (ci-dessous), et éventuellement avoir un entretien préliminaire.

Vos Hôtes

 

Déborah et Jürgen enseignent tous deux à Hridaya Yoga France. En tant qu'hôtes, ils prendront soin de vous pendant votre retraite, répondront à toutes vos questions et vous guideront si besoin est. Ils vous proposeront une séance d'orientation en début de retraite, ainsi qu'un débriefing à la fin de celle-ci.

IMG_7157.jpg

Disponibilités

NEWS: Nous sommes complètement bookés jusqu'à avril 2022!!! Nous ne prenons actuellement aucun nouvelles réservations. Mais rien n'est perdu... 

>>> Nous vous conseillons de remplir le questionnaire ci-dessus pour formaliser votre demande de retraite et ainsi rejoindre notre LISTE D'ATTENTE.

En cas d'annulation d'une retraite, ce qui arrive surtout ces temps-ci, vous serez immédiatement informé par email.

TEMOIGNAGES

FLORIS

Entrer dans  le noir fut comme de revenir aux temps immémoriaux d'avant meme la naissance...

N'avoir rien à faire et être immergé dans l'obscurité est crée les conditions parfaites pour aller plus loin dans la méditation et pour devenir de plus en plus transparent avec sa vie intérieure.

L'espace  était très propre, spacieux, confortable et parfait.

Jürgen et Deborah sont des hôtes formidables, je me suis senti très bien pris en charge. Beaucoup de gratitude pour cette expérience!

La chambre obscure fût pour moi une expérience très profonde qui ramène intimement dans le cœur.

Se retrouver seul sans aucune distraction exterieure m'a ouvert grand les portes de l'infini et a profondément changé ma perception de la réalité. 

Ce fût une expérience très intense qui a transformé ma vision de moi-même et du monde exterieur.

 

L'obscurité offre cette possibilité de revenir à la source, les échos continuent de m'accompagner et de m'apporter une grande force à chaque instant. 

Merci à Déborah et Jürgen pour l'accueil et leur présence.

CLEMENS

Quelle expérience magique que c'était de rester dans l'obscurité! La méditation allait tellement plus loin. Deborah et Jürgen se sont occupés de moi avec gentillesse et ils servent une délicieuse cuisine divine :)

PAULINA

Je ne peux pas imaginer de meilleures chambres noires ailleurs et de meilleurs hôtes non plus. Deborah et Juergen ont créé un refuge magnifique et sûr où je me sentais complètement chez moi. Je recommande vivement cet endroit à tous ceux qui souhaitent plonger profondément en eux-même! Merci de tout coeur pour votre accueil!

REMI

Gallerie Photos

Où sommes-nous?